The home became a care home in 1969, previous to this it was private residence. The land was owned by Josiah Wedgwood at the beginning of the 17th century. In 1769 the land was bought by Robert Emery, a Derbyshire farmer who built the ‘Queens Arms Inn’ which in later years became the Queens Hotel, until very recently still an on going establishment. In 1780 the land was sold to a surgeon from Newcastle called William Bent for £1,300. It was on this land Basford House and other buildings were built which later became Alison House.
From 1795 it was leased to several tenants by the Radcliffe family and was subsequently used as a school, farm, and sub-tenant lodgings for families. As the town grew many mill managers and owners originally rented room here as did various clergymen and other middle ranking citizens. Poorer families employed by the mills rented rooms at the back of the hall and the cellars. In the 20th century the hall was used a both a doctors surgery and as apartments.
A lot of our client group worked in the pottery industry all their working lives and were alive during World War 2. We have a very diverse clientele with a wide range of knowledge and experiences.
A homely environment with a rich history
Come to see Alison House for yourself and see what makes it unique.
Alison House Care Home provides the care of older people up to 29 whom may have dementia and 6 with elderly mental health problems.